Freshers fair and deleted webpages ;-)

Hello!

This week was not very extraordinary. But I really enjoyed this wonderful autumn weather (even though I had to wear more than one layer of clothes 😉 )

I work mainly on more reading lists, digitised chapters and I should’ve updated the library webpage. This didn’t work out as it was supposed to. In the middle I accidently deleted the whole “about us” page!! 😉 But with Lukasz’s help I managed to restore everything. So now you don’t see anything from the little chaos I caused 😉

dsc03717

On Wednesday I had the opportunity to help at the Fresher’s Fair. This is a Welcome event for all the new Oxford students. Many organisations present their service to the new people (like Societies, Sports, Libraries, Jobs agents …) First I helped more than an hour at the Bodleian Library stall. It was very interesting to hear from the students what they study and what they already know about the libraries. My task was to show them the Map of the libraries and give them tips which library covers their subject the best. Actually I wasn’t quite sure which places to recommend, but Angela, who was with me at the stall, help me and now I know much more about the different libraries than before 😉 After my shift was over, I took the chance and walked around by myself. I got a two cool fabric bags, many flyers and it was very interesting to see all the different stalls. 😉

Later this week, the Education Library had more library tours and induction for the new started MSc students. I had again the opportunity to provide two of them. I was nervous about 30 minutes before it started. But as soon as I began I was calm and it was quite fun! I felt very confident, although it was in English 😉

This week I also talked with Shez and Lukasz (Library assistants) about winter and snow in England. Lukasz, who is originally from Poland, explained that nothing works in England, even when it “only” snows 10 cm. That means: no busses, no school, just nobody goes to work. I didn’t really believe him, because 10 cm is not a big deal in Switzerland (and maybe he exaggerated a little bit). But even Shez, who is from Oxford, confirmed that it’s really like this 😉 Now I am very curious to see this in real life and I hope that it will snow before I have to go back!!

Have I told you about my general knowledge extension? Karin and I decided that we finally want to watch all the Harry Potter movies. Especially because we are here in the city, where Harry Potter is all present 😉 This week we already made it through the second movie! It is actually really good (and its fun) and we have ordered the next two from the Library 😉

harry-potter-and-the-chamber-of-secrets-527e270f59c69
Quelle

Wish you a wonderful weekend!

Olivia

Leave a Reply

